for the latest COVID-19 advice please visit www.nhs.uk/coronavirus

 Primary Care Service for Easington and Sedgefield 

As of 1st October 2019, there were changes to the Primary Care Service operated by South Durham Health. This provides access to a minor ailment service accessed through 111 in five locations – Sedgefield, Newton Aycliffe, Spennymoor, Peterlee and Seaham. The services in Peterlee and Seaham now operate between the hours of 6pm and 8pm Monday to Friday, 8pm to 1pm Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays. The service in Newton Aycliffe and Spennymoor operate 6pm to 8pm Monday to Friday and 9am to 2pm Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays. The Sedgefield service is open Saturdays and Sundays only 9am to 2pm. 

Primary Care Networks 

All practices across South Durham are working together better to meet the needs of their local population, with teams of staff employed by other organisations and agencies also now grouped around practices and their patients. South Durham Health works with five Primary Care Networks:

Sedgefield 1: Hallgarth Surgery, Bewick Crescent Surgery, Peaseway Medical Centre, Jubilee Medical Group (Clinical Director Dr Winny Jose)

Sedgefield North: St Andrews Medical Practice, Bishops Close Medical Practice, Ferryhill & Chilton Medical Practice, Skerne Medical Group, West Cornforth Medical Practice (Clinical Director Dr Matt Shield)

Easington Central: Blackhall & Peterlee Practice, William Brown Centre, Horden Group Practice (Clinical Director Dr Nitish Sahoo)

Easington District:  Bevan Medical Group, East Durham Medical Group, intrahealth @ Wingate, Southdene Medical Centre (Clinical Director Dr Dagny Samuel)

North Easington: Byron Medical Practice, Murton Medical Group, Marlborough Surgery, New Seaham Medical Centre, Silverdale Family Practice (Clinical Director Dr Rajiv Mansingh)

South Durham Health is the managing agent for five groups and works with the core members and clinical directors to assist with the administration of the networks and the delivery of their work programmes. 

Both Jill Moulton email: jill.moulton@nhs.net and Linda Brown email: linda.brown12@nhs.net can provide further information on the operation of the networks.

We are delighted that Margaret Ross has joined South Durham Health as Business Manager. Margaret is Practice Manager at Marlborough Surgery, Seaham and she will be continuing to split her time between the two roles until July.